Veterans Day Reception & Dinner

Friday, November 11, 2016
Location: Primo Banquet Hall & Conference Center
2615 National Avenue
Indianapolis, IN
5:30 p.m. - Reception w/cash bar
6:30 p.m. - Dinner

To make a reservation please click here for brochure


Banquet Reservation Pricing
E-5/below & guests = $15
E-6/above & guests = $25
Officer & guests = $28
Veterans & guests = $28
Nonveterans & guests = $30
Table Sponsorships = $400
Banquet Reservation Pricing

National Anthem
Pledge Of Allegiance
Master Of Ceremonies
Musical Program

Banquet Presenting Sponsor: Walmart
Banquet Title Sponsor: Available


Military Achievment Award is bestowed upon enlisted National Guard and Reserve personnel who have been judged outstanding by their respective organizations. As a guide, selection usually is based on ratings in the following categories: military performance during the past year, attendance at required and optional functions, judgment, reliability, leadership, appearance, attitude, and preparation for advancement. However, each service unit is the ultimate judge of its own recipients and may decide on its onwn criteria for selection.

Best JROTC Marching Unit Award - Plaques are awarded to the top three JROTC units participating in the annual Veterans Day Parade. Battalions are judged on appearance, precision, percentage of program participants, uniformity and the performance of cadet leaders.

Cadet Special Recognition Award - Recognizing Outstanding Junior Reserve Officers' Training Corps (JROTC) cadet battalions and individual cadets in the greater Indianapolis area with individual scholarships and plaques. The two $1,000 scholarships are provided by the Veterans Day Council of Indianapolis and given in the name of MG Robert Moorhead and MG Charles Whitaker.

The Walter J. Schuchmann Boy Scout Leadership Award has been presented since 1979 as a tribute to Mr. Schuchmann for his outstanding service to scouting and the Veterans Day Council. The scout receiving the award is selected by the Crossroads of American Council, Boy Scouts of America. The recipient is presented a personal plaque and his name is inscribed on the permanent trophy on display at Camp Belzer.

Dr. Corinne White Walker Girl Scout Leadership Award
, established in 2001, is named for a lady born July Fourth, daughter of a World War I veteran, widow of a World War II veteran, and mother of a veteran. The award goes to an outstanding Girl Scout Gold Award recipient whose life epitomizes the values of Dr. Walker. Girl Scouting is a life-long commitment for Corinne Walker. She joined scouts while attending IPS School 80. She organized a troop years ago while at Indiana University and still maintains friendships with several of its members. She was Girl Scout Executive Director in Bloomington and organized a sorority for university-aged former Girl Scouts. Dr. Walker holds Bachelor's and Master's Degrees from IU and a Doctorate from Indiana Northern University. An educator and member of several patriotic organizations, she was Administrative Vice President / Secretary of the Veterans Day Council for many years.

The ProPatria Award for Employer Support to the Guard and Reserve - The Indiana Committee for Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve annually recognizes a business or organization with its highest honor. The Pro Patria Award is presented to an employer who demonstrates exceptional support for our national defense by adopting personnel policies that make it easier for employees to particpate in the National Guard and Reserve.

Francis Polen Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to Veterans - This award was established in 1982 and presented the first time that year as a tribute to the late Francis Polen and to honor those whose voluntary service to veterans exemplifies the dedicated service Francis Polen gave to veterans. Francis Polen was a founding member of the Veterans Day Council of Indianapolis (established in 1963), a Past President, and the Council's corporate treasurer, until his passing on April 17, 1981. "Fran," as he was popularly known, has been called a "veterans veteran." Immediately upon his discharge in 1945, as a sergeant with the Army Airs Corps, Fran's interest in the "veteran" was born. Joining The American Legion Post 4, he soon was the Post's choice to be their first veteran of WWII to serve as Post Commander. Later he was to become a District Adjutant, Vice Commander and Commander. In 1958 he was named National Treasurer of The American Legion, holding this position for 20 years.

Dr. John Morton-Finney Award for Public Service
is the most prestigious award presented by the Veterans Day Council of Indianapolis. It is awarded annually to a Hoosier veteran whose entire life is characterized by the same selfless service exemplified by the members of our nation's armed forces. It is named for Dr. John Morton-Finney, a former Buffalo Soldier and Wrold War I veteran who served his community as an educator and as an attorney until his death in 1999 at the age of 108. "Dr. Morton-Finey," noted Maj. Gen. (Ret) Robert Moorhead, former Commander of the 38th Infantry Division and a recipient of the award, "is the standard by which future generations will be judged." The name of each recipient is added to a plaque on display in the main lobby of the Indiana War Memorial. Past recipients include Dr. Morton-Finney; former Indiana Congressman Andy Jacobs, Jr.; Senator Richard Lugar; Indiana Lt. Gov. Joseph Kernan; and WIBC Senior News Analyst Fred Heckman among others. In order to receive the award the nominee must be a resident of Indiana, and honorably discharged veteran of the United States Armed Forces, and have a lifetime of slefless service to their country and community.

Robert G. Moorhead Award For Retired Military
This award is given in memory of MG Robert G. Moorhead. General Moorhead served in the Army during World War II and joined the Indiana National Guard upon his return, eventually rising to the position of 38th Infantry Division Commander. Throughout his lifetime, he had a major impact like few others on the city of Indianapolis. He exemplified service to his country while in uniform and service to his community, state and nation as retired military. The award is presented to a retired service member who has continued to make a valuable contribution to the military, active duty, Guard, Reserve or veterans.

Contact Information:
Ron Martin, Banquet Vice President
Ph: 317.709.2567